Those Pesky Pets

So, at the end of my last post, I announced that I had retired from costume making right?

WRONG!

As the next year rolled around, I was itching to make some more costumes, I just couldn’t help myself.

So, I turned my attention to the dogs.

My sister found out that her new outside mall was having a big pet parade and costume contest and later we found out that the Petco near her was also having a costume contest the morning of that same day.

I immediately got busy trying to think of a great costume for Marley and my sisters little Pekingese, Sweetie.

Come on, with faces like these, who wouldn’t exploit them!!

20121026-074736.jpg

My grandkids did not take the news lightly that I am not making their costumes anymore, but I am making some for the dogs!

We finally decided that Sweetie would be a swatted fly.

I made her wings out of coat hangers and black knee highs and added the veins with green glitter. I also covered the caps from the knee high container with green glitter for the eyes.

After much thought about how to put it all together, my sister attached the wings to Sweetie’s black harness and glued the eyes and pipe cleaner antennae to a pair of kids sunglasses to sit on sweeties head.

The fly swatter was the most challenging part, because it had to be comfortable for Sweetie to wear. I started out with the handle from a real fly swatter and I found a package of plastic flies at the dollar store but I wasn’t sure how to proceed from there. My sister ended up making the swatter out of bubble wrap and shelf liner, gluing it to the handle, adding the plastic flies and cutting a hole in the middle to slip it over Sweetie’s head.

This is the cutest fly I have ever seen!

20121026-075002.jpg

20121026-075024.jpg

Sweetie won 2nd place at the Petco pet Contest.

We decided that Marley would be a trapped mouse.

I started out by making him a gray jacket with a tail and mouse ears attached to a headband.

For the trap, I used foam board and cut the middle to fit over Marley’s back. I painted it to look like a Victor mouse trap and then attached some soft copper tubing for the arm of the trap.

I hooked the trap to the jacket with Velcro.

He rocked his costume!

20121026-075239.jpg

20121026-075258.jpg

The judges at Petco had a hard time deciding between Marley and Sweetie, but we think it ultimately came down to who wore their costumes better. Sweetie , as cute as she was, looked like she didn’t want to be there. Marley strutted his stuff and that won him 1st place!

20121026-075414.jpg

What about the costume contest at the mall you ask?

We are not sure, Marley was not playing nice with some of the other dogs so we left, abruptly, after they announced the winners of each category. Which by the way, neither one of them won.

It wasn’t until the following year, when my sister when back to watch and get ideas, she discovered that they award a grand prize at the very end and we have a sick feeling in our gut that one of these 2 costumes probably won the whole thing.

20121026-080449.jpg

But, because Marley was a naughty bad boy, we will never really know!

Linking up here:

Monday

Market yourself Monday at Sumo’s Sweet Stuff
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
A marvelous mess at Marvelously Messy
Newbie Mondays at Debbiedoo’s
Monday LinkUp Party at Making The World Cuter
I Gotta Try That
Cupcakes and Crinoline
Design Dreams By Anne
Three Mango Seeds
It’s So Very Cheri

Tuesday

Get your craft on at Today’s Creative Blog
Take a look Tuesday at Sugar Bee Crafts
Show me what ya got at Not Just A Housewife
A Bowl Full Of Lemons
Tout it Tuesday at Claiming Our Space
home decorating and organizing link party at Organize Your Stuff Now
Uncommonly yours at Uncommon Designs

Wednesday

Look what I made at Creations by Kara
Lil Luna link party at Lil Luna
Wildly Original Roundup at I Gotta Create (7pm)
whimsical Wednesday blog hop at Random
Whimsy Wednesday at The NY Melrose Family

Thursday

Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage (Wed night)
Hookin up party at House of Hepworths (Wed night)
Dog gone dirty craftin at Rhinestone Beagle
Made you look at Made in a Day

Friday

Frugal Friday at Shabby Nest (Thur night)
Friday flair at Whipperberry
Friday fun party at Craftionary
Fancy this Fridays at Truly Lovely
Freedom Fridays at My Turn (For Us)

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. OH my gosh you had me laughing. The dogs are spoiled, so sorry grandkids LOL! I have to show my younger boy these costumes. He will get a kick out of them. Thanks for sharing with the party.

    Reply
  2. Too funny! Cracked me up~Thanks for linking up last week!
    Kim

    Reply

Leave a comment