A Simple Way To Stretch Your Shoes

We are taking a family cruise in January, I will be referring to it a lot between now and then, and I want to make some glittered shoes to take. I searched the Goodwill and thrift stores, looking for the perfect shoe. I want something that I can wear with dresses, but I don’t want a real high heel because there is a lot of walking involved and I want to be comfortable. I also want a little flat ballerina style shoe that can be either dressy or casual.

I finally found these two pairs of shoes when I was with my sister, at her Goodwill and I think they are going to be perfect.

20120518-073241.jpg

There is one problem though, the red shoes are very narrow and I can barely fit my big fat wide feet in them. Aren’t they cute, I almost want to wear them just like they are.

20120518-073559.jpg

I did a google search on how to stretch shoes and to my surprise, I found this ridiculously easy method. Are you ready for this? Drum roll please…
You freeze them. Yes that’s right, you freeze them!

This is what I used:

Vinegar and ammonia
Paper towels
Ziplock baggies
Rubber bands
Water

20120518-073828.jpg

The first thing that I did was to mix some vinegar and ammonia with water and cleaned the inside of the shoe real good.

Then I filled a baggie no more than half full of water. Squeeze all of the air out of it and make sure it is sealed good. Now comes the fun part, shove the baggie into the shoe, making sure to get it as far into the toe as you can. I wanted to make sure that the baggie didn’t flop around, so I put a rubber band around the shoe to help hold it in place.

20120518-073941.jpg

OK, now go put your shoes in the freezer over night. When the water freezes it will expand and stretch out the shoe. Who’d a thunk it?

20120518-074122.jpg

This is what it will look like when it is frozen.
Hopefully you will get lucky enough to be able to just pull the frozen baggie out. If not, you will have to wait until it thaws enough to loosen up and come out.

20120518-074238.jpg

20120518-074640.jpg

The last step, and most difficult for me, is to put your foot into the frozen shoe and wear it around a while until it forms to your foot. I put a slipper sock on for two reasons. First, because the shoe is freaking freezin’, and secondly, I wanted to make sure that it stretched out enough.

20120518-074744.jpg

Depending on how tight the shoe is, you may have to repeat this process a few times to get the fit you want. I only had to freeze the right shoe once but I had to do it twice for the left shoe.

20120518-075801.jpg

Now, what color glitter should I use on them?
(or more importantly, when am I going to put some tanning lotion on those legs?)

Linking up to:
Monday

Market yourself Monday at Sumo’s Sweet Stuff
Monday link up party at Making The World Cuter
Metamorphis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
It’s So very creative at It’s So Very Cheri
Made by you Mondays at Skip To My Lou
A marvelous mess at Marvelously Messy
Newbie Mondays at Debbiedoos

Tuesday

Topsy Turvy Tuesday at I’m Topsy Turvy
Get your craft on at Today’s Creative Blog
Take a look Tuesday at Sugar Bee Crafts
Show me what ya got at Not Just A Housewife
Turning the daunting into do-able at Project Queen
A Bowl Full Of Lemons
Catch as catch can T My Repurposed Life

Wednesday

Look what I made at Creations by Kara
Lil Luna link party at Lil Luna

Thursday

Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage (Wed night)
Hookin up party at House of Hepworths (Wed night)
Get your brag on at Gluesticks
Dog gone dirty craftin at Rhinestone Beagle
piece of cake T Quality Cheap Home

Friday

Frugal Friday at Shabby Nest (Thur night)
Friday flair at Whipperberry
Fridays feature at Cookie Nut
Friday fun party at Craftionary
Freedom Fridays at My Turn (For Us)

Saturday

What’s shaken at Shaken Together

Previous Post
Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. What an awesome tip!! I’ve purchased so many shoes, wore them around the house with hopes that they will stretch… but in the end going back to the store. I definitely will have to give this idea a go! Thanks for sharing:) Will be pinning it!

    Reply
  2. evelyn513

     /  May 19, 2012

    Thank you so very much for linking up at Freedom Fridays:) I love this simple idea to stretch your shoes, I must try it. PS I am now following you on Linky Followers:)

    Reply
  3. Talk about creative! I’m definitely gonna remember this one! I discovered you on Debbiedoos and I’m now following, I would appreciate if you followed back. Thanks

    Reply
  4. kkrisdan28

     /  May 21, 2012

    Oh, how nifty! =) I’ll be trying this for sure!

    Visiting from Making the World Cuter

    Reply
  5. So smart! I’m going to remember this!

    Reply
  6. akismet-6eb8d51890c8797356ee4d8a5b8e1894

     /  May 22, 2012

    Crazy good tip. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  7. What a great tip! Definitely going to remember this…thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Reply
  8. I’ll be sharing this fabulous tip at Project Queen’s Link Party tomorrow night (Monday). Thanks so much for sharing!

    Reply
  9. Mae

     /  October 17, 2012

    I will try this tonight. My daughter has a cheering competition this weekend. She just received her shoes and they are too narrow. I hope this works.

    Reply
  10. Robin berry

     /  November 15, 2012

    I love the shoe one,i have bran new boots and they are to tight, do I have to do the first 2 cleaning steroids or can I just do the freezer bags

    Reply
  11. Laura

     /  April 2, 2013

    So happy to have found this idea!!! I want to stretch out a pair of shoes I just bought, they are just a little snug on my 8 month pregnant feet. Did you have any damage to the shoe after freezing and thawing 2 times??? I paid 65.00 for the shoes I want to stretch and I didn’t want to damage the shoe material. Thanks!

    Reply
  12. I tried this at the weekend with a pair of shoes I got off eBay. They were a bit right across the front so I Googled tips on stretching shoes and came across your site. Took the shoes out of the freezer today and it worked! They’re definitely a lot looser. I might do if once more for a perfect fit though. Thanks so much for the top tip! 🙂

    Reply
  13. Marisa

     /  June 28, 2013

    Very good tips. Will definitely try with a pair of leather pumps I have there. Thank you!!!

    Reply
  14. Krystal

     /  July 23, 2013

    Is this safe to do with all kinds of shoes? I bought some that are really expensive for my wedding and not sure if I should try this

    Reply
    • Sherrie

       /  July 26, 2013

      I was wondering about the materials also.
      Could someone share what type materials they have tested, please.
      I have what I call “Granny Nunn feet”, and I can see how this could help me!
      ***She was the sweetest person with those fat little feet!***

      Reply
    • Natasha

       /  August 24, 2013

      Hiya – did this work on your wedding shoes? I have just bought an expensive patent pair for my friends wedding. I love them but they are so tight and I don’t want to ruin them. Thank you 🙂

      Reply
  15. LINAS

     /  October 29, 2013

    thats gud way nd so brilliant BRAVO

    Reply
  16. Thank you for the extremely impressive article. It has great detail that are easy to understand and it also has great tips.

    Reply
  17. joanne matthews

     /  February 6, 2014

    i am about to do this on a pair of expensive shoes wish me luck if it doesn’t work i am going to cry

    Reply
  18. Thanks for this! Great tip. I’m currently walking around my house in thawed shoes – yes, they are freakin’ freezing but if short-term cold feet means I can wear my new shoes then it’s totally worth it 🙂

    Reply
  19. Linda Hicks

     /  October 16, 2014

    I will try this! I have BAD bunions, so can literally NEVER get shoes to fit. One question: What is the formula for the vinegar-ammonia-water mixture, and will it help get rid of foot odor — or make it worse?

    Reply
  1. Link Party Highlights #32 – “Turning the Daunting Into the Do-able”
  2. Glittered Shoes « Creative Lady of the House

Leave a comment