Glittered Shoes

Glittered shoes are everywhere!

They are in all of the stores and you see all of the stars wearing them.

So many crafty ladies have posted tutorials on how to make your own glittered shoes so I just had to get in on all of the fun.

As you know, we are going on a family cruise in January and I thought that some glittered shoes would be a fun addition to my cruise wear wardrobe.

I found these two pairs of shoes at the Goodwill and I thought they would be perfect for this project.

20120629-071505.jpg

You may remember the red pair, they were a little too tight so I had to stretch them out a bit. You can read about it here.

For this project, you will need:

Modpodge
Fine glitter
Acrylic paint, the color of the glitter
Paintbrush
Painters tape

The first thing that I did was to clean the shoes real well and then tape the sole and heal with some painters tape.

20120629-071729.jpg

Then I mixed some green and blue acrylic paint and painted the shoes.

20120629-071828.jpg

I did this extra step so that I didn’t have to apply as many coats of the glitter paint.

I didn’t take a picture of each step because I was so excited to start this project that I forgot to it is pretty self explanatory and easy to figure out.

I mixed about 3-4 teaspoons of Modpodge with the fine glitter. You are basically making glitter paint so you want it to be the consistency of paint. If you make it too thick, the glitter will leave big clumps and you don’t want that.

Just paint it all over the shoes and let it dry.
I did two coats of the glitter paint and then just filled in any spots that may have needed a little extra.

Here is the finished product, I just love how they turned out!

20120629-074032.jpg

For the next pair, I did not paint the shoes first. I mixed several different colors of glitter together and applied two coats.

When it was dry, I then applied the silver glitter to the strap on the top and the heal. Because I did not paint it first, it took lots of coats of the glitter paint.

I am really happy with the finished look.

20120629-074139.jpg

I did get a little carried away with the glitter paint!

20120629-074221.jpg

But I just love these shoes and I wear them everywhere.

20120629-074301.jpg

My next project is going to be finding a place to put all of my new shoes.

I am partying here:

Monday

Market yourself Monday at Sumo’s Sweet Stuff
Monday link up party at Making The World Cuter
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
It’s So very creative at It’s So Very Cheri
A marvelous mess at Marvelously Messy
Newbie Mondays at Debbiedoos

Tuesday

Topsy Turvy Tuesday at I’m Topsy Turvy
Get your craft on at Today’s Creative Blog
Take a look Tuesday at Sugar Bee Crafts
Show me what ya got at Not Just A Housewife
A Bowl Full Of Lemons
Tout it Tuesday at Claiming Our Space
home decorating and organizing link party at Organize Your Stuff Now
Uncommonly yours at Uncommon Creating the

Wednesday

Look what I made at Creations by Kara
Lil Luna link party at Lil Luna
Wildly Original Roundup at I Gotta Create
whimsical Wednesday blog hop at Random
Whimsy Wednesday at The NY Melrose Family
Time for a party at Fine Craft Guild

Thursday

Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage (Wed night)
Hookin up party at House of Hepworths (Wed night)
Dog gone dirty craftin at Rhinestone Beagle
Made you look at Made in a Day

Friday

Frugal Friday at Shabby Nest (Thur night)
Friday flair at Whipperberry
Friday fun party at Craftionary
Fancy this Fridays at Truly Lovely
TGIF at Two Sasters
Freedom Fridays at My Turn (For Us)

Saturday

What’s shaken at Shaken Together

Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Lisa t

     /  June 29, 2012

    Thanks for sharing this. I always fancied a pair of Ruby slippers like Dorothy & you’ve just given me the inspiration to make them! Thank you

    Reply
  2. These are the cutest shoes ever!! I love the shoes with the buttons. You did a fabulous job!! 🙂

    Reply
  3. I am a die-hard glitter fan! I have a feeling that I’m going to have one too many glittery shoes here in the near future…I’m officially your newest follower on Linky and I’m so excited to see what’s in store on this lovely blog! Yay for being blog friends! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Just be warned, it is addicting! Thank you for the kind words, I am now your new Facebook follower.

    Reply
  5. claimingourspace

     /  July 30, 2012

    I love these but have one question. – do you need to seal them with another coat of glitterless modge podge? I was wondering if the glitter flaked off at all. Thanks for sharing on Tout It Tuesday! Hope to see you tomorrow.

    Reply
  6. It is nice to see everyone having so much fun with glitter this year 😉

    Thank you for linking it up at http://www.FineCraftGuild.com
    Looking forward to seeing you again later today with another fabulous project!

    Reply
  7. Hooray! I’m just about to make some glitter shoes for a Christmas Ball, but having seen yours I may just keep going and sparkle the girl’s shoes too!

    Reply

Leave a comment