Slow Down The Ripening Process Of Bananas

I have seen sooo many different ideas on the Internet about how to preserve bananas but when I have tried them, they haven’t worked.

Some say to separate them, that didn’t work for me.

Some say refrigerate them, that didn’t work for me.

Some say to put them on a hook or hanger, that didn’t work for me.

Well, I bought some bananas for the Capt.’s lunch this week but I wasn’t sure if he would eat them all so I decided to try one more tip.

I did not take a picture of the bananas when I first got them because at that time I didn’t think that I would be posting about them.

I bought the bananas on Monday and I wrapped a piece of aluminum foil around the stem to slow down the ripening process.

By Wednesday, the Capt. had not eaten any of them.

They still look really good.

20120921-080917.jpg

Here it is Friday and they still sit untouched, still in good condition.

20120921-081109.jpg

I think this method really works!

If I had not wrapped the stems with aluminum foil, I would either be throwing these bananas out today or making banana bread.

I think these will hold up long enough for him to take for lunch on Monday and maybe even Tuesday.

For the remaining bananas, I think I am going to try baking them.

I found this recipe on Pinterest that I want to try.

20130622-065229.jpg
source

Have a blessed weekend!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’m going to try this! Thanks for the tip. Have a blessed day. 😀

    Reply
  2. Ally Bernard

     /  June 21, 2013

    the banana in the cast iron skillet look really good but i could not find the recipe could you please send it to me or post it. When i click on the link above i get an error message. Thanks so much for sharing and I bought bananas yesterday and wrapped them as soon as I got home.

    Reply

Leave a comment