Skeleton And The Grim Reaper

The last costume that I made for the Capt. and myself ended up being very time consuming.

I had no idea what we were going to be for halloween that year until I came across these neat masks that you actually paint yourself and then stick to your face with liquid latex.

We are going as the grim reaper and a skeleton.

OK, now that I knew what we where going to be, how in the world was I going to make them?

The Capt. was the Grim Reaper and that was these easy one to make. I just used a pattern, can’t remember which one though.

But for me, I didn’t even know where to begin.

I finally decided to dye an old jumpsuit black for the base of the costume. Then I laid out a piece of white flannel and hand drew a skeleton. I cut out all of the pieces and sewed them to the black jumpsuit and black turtleneck. I made a cap for the head out of left over material from the Capt.’s costume and added some white flannel.

The really neat thing about this skeleton costume, and the pictures don’t pick up on, is that the bones glow in the dark!

I used some glow in the dark cream that I got in the Halloween section of a department store and coated all of the flannel bones and also the bones that I had painted on my gloves and black sneakers. When the lights where off, all you saw were a green glow of bones, it was awesome!

Over the years, that costume has been passed around and has gotten lots of use and I am told that it still glows in the dark. Amazing!

So here were are, in our final costumes to date:

20121012-064233.jpg

Have a blessed weekend!

Linking up here:

Monday

Market yourself Monday at Sumo’s Sweet Stuff
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
A marvelous mess at Marvelously Messy
Newbie Mondays at Debbiedoo’s
Monday LinkUp Party at Making The World Cuter
I Gotta Try That
it’s So Very Cheri
Cupcakes and Crinoline
Design Dreams by Anne
Setting For Four
Three Mango Seeds

Tuesday

Get your craft on at Today’s Creative Blog
Take a look Tuesday at Sugar Bee Crafts
Show me what ya got at Not Just A Housewife
A Bowl Full Of Lemons
Tout it Tuesday at Claiming Our Space
home decorating and organizing link party at Organize Your Stuff Now
Uncommonly yours at Uncommon Designs

Wednesday

Look what I made at Creations by Kara
Lil Luna link party at Lil Luna
Wildly Original Roundup at I Gotta Create (7pm)
whimsical Wednesday blog hop at Random
Whimsy Wednesday at The NY Melrose Family

Thursday

Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage (Wed night)
Hookin up party at House of Hepworths (Wed night)
Dog gone dirty craftin at Rhinestone Beagle
Made you look at Made in a Day

Friday

Frugal Friday at Shabby Nest (Thur night)
Friday flair at Whipperberry
Friday fun party at Craftionary
Fancy this Fridays at Truly Lovely
Freedom Fridays at My Turn (For Us)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Great job! You kind of freak me out in those costumes!!!

    Thanks for sharing at Its a Party,
    xox

    Reply
  2. Great job! thanks for linking up!
    Kim~madeinaday

    Reply

Leave a comment