A Chick, Rocky, And What Happened To Your Head Man?

By this time, we had moved to Florida and were planning on taking a trip back East to trick or treat with the grandkids.

I made all of the costumes and brought them with me on the plane.

Needless to say, it was very difficult to make these without being able to try them on the kids first.

Isabelle wanted to be a chicken, so I sewed a white sweat shirt and a t shirt together and stuffed it with fiberfill, then I wrapped it with feather boas. I added a red comb and wattle to a white knit hat along with some more feathers and she was the cutest little chick in the parade, and she was a runner up in the costume contest. What you can’t see from the picture is that her treat bag was a KFC bucket.

20121017-082518.jpg

20121017-082539.jpg

Gavin decided to be Rocky when I stumbled upon this costume at Marshall’s.
I called him to see if he would wear it and he said only if I put “Rocky” on the back and he could wear a black wig. We also painted is face to look bruised and I made him a championship belt to wear.

20121017-083517.jpg

20121017-083535.jpg

Jacob likes to challenge me. He wanted to be a headless man. This was fairly easy to make. I made a paper mâché chest and attached it to a backpack which also strapped around his waist for stability. The neck was an empty Ben and Jerry’s ice cream container that I filled will spray foam insulation and then painted red. I bought 2 black capes at the dollar store to make the long coat. I also made the fake arm out of a clothes hanger and pantyhose. This costume did not win a prize, but it had the “wow” factor and it got so much attention that I was very happy.

20121017-083650.jpg

20121017-083723.jpg

I was so thrilled with these costumes and it was exciting marching in the RagShag Parade!

20121017-084333.jpg

I will show you the rest of the gang on Friday!

Linking up here:

Monday

Market yourself Monday at Sumo’s Sweet Stuff
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
A marvelous mess at Marvelously Messy
Newbie Mondays at Debbiedoo’s
Monday LinkUp Party at Making The World Cuter
I Gotta Try That
it’s So Very Cheri
Cupcakes and Crinoline
Design Dreams by Anne
Setting For Four
Three Mango Seeds

Tuesday

Get your craft on at Today’s Creative Blog
Take a look Tuesday at Sugar Bee Crafts
Show me what ya got at Not Just A Housewife
A Bowl Full Of Lemons
Tout it Tuesday at Claiming Our Space
home decorating and organizing link party at Organize Your Stuff Now
Uncommonly yours at Uncommon Designs

Wednesday

Look what I made at Creations by Kara
Lil Luna link party at Lil Luna
Wildly Original Roundup at I Gotta Create (7pm)
whimsical Wednesday blog hop at Random
Whimsy Wednesday at The NY Melrose Family

Thursday

Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage (Wed night)
Hookin up party at House of Hepworths (Wed night)
Dog gone dirty craftin at Rhinestone Beagle
Made you look at Made in a Day

Friday

Frugal Friday at Shabby Nest (Thur night)
Friday flair at Whipperberry
Friday fun party at Craftionary
Fancy this Fridays at Truly Lovely
Freedom Fridays at My Turn (For Us)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. whoa!! awesome!! amazing!! love them!!

    Reply
  2. So cute. I made a costume like the headless costume once but it was an alien abducting the child in pajamas.

    Reply
  3. Aiy-yi-yi! The range of emotions from looking at this trio of costumes is just what Halloween is all about! Shining the spotlight on you today! Thanks so much for linking up at the Wildly Original party over at I Gotta Create!

    http://igottacreate.blogspot.com/2012/10/chicken-about-halloween.html

    Reply
  4. Oh, my word!! Those costumes are so incredibly awesome! WOW! -Marci @ Stone Cottage Adventures

    Reply
  5. Fabulous costumes! I love the chicken!!! Thanks for sharing at Its a Party xox

    Reply
  6. Too cute!
    Kim

    Reply
  1. Made U Look Linky #48 –

Leave a comment