LAST MINUTE DECORATING CHALLENGE

I found out about a week ago that the Capt.’s sister was going to be in town and he had invited her over for a cookout, along with his brother and sister-in-law. 

Ordinarily, this wouldn’t have been a big deal, but, we are in the middle of restoring an old boat and the garage is loaded with parts that are spilling over to my craft room. Also, I am in the process of changing out colors in my living room and I have sewing projects spread out everywhere. 

I was so busy trying to get everything picked up and plan the menu that I had very little time to think about any kind of decorations.

When I realized that St. Patricks Day is coming up, and The Capt.’s mother’s maiden name was Kelly, it was a no brainer!  I quickly searched Pinterest for a few ideas, I didn’t want to go over board, but I did want it to be a little festive. 

I found this cute printout here http://www.inspirationalfamousquotes.com/2013/09/i-am-not-lucky-i-am-blessed.ht

so I made my own version of it and it turned out great. 

Image

 

I fell in love with this centerpiece here spot.com/2011/02/lucky-me.htmlhttp://dodi47.blog

Because it was now the “ day of ” , I had to make it really simple. 

I picked up a green vinyl table cloth at the Family Dollar store along with some fake flowers. Then I went to Walmart and bought a green plastic flower pot.

I cut a hole into the bottom of the planter with a utility knife, painted a black stripe with craft paint, stuck some double sided tape in the shape of a buckle on it and covered it with gold glitter, and then put the flowers in the hole that I cut.  It was so simple but yet festive enough that I am going to keep it on the table for another week.
 
Image
 
 
 
I added some bright green napkins and rainbow stripe paper plates to add the finishing touches. 

I just made my special hamburgers, great hot dogs with the casings that crunch when you bite into them, an apple salad and a key lime pie for dessert. 

No one even noticed my subtle Irish theme, 
the food must have been that good!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. very cute job on the decor

    Reply

Leave a Reply

