Scam Alert

I have been wanting to add a wall of built in cabinets and shelves in the den Marley’s room for a while now. But, the only draw back is that we have this very big, expensive computer armoire that doesn’t fit into my new plans.
The Capt. wanted me to find another place for it in the house but that just wasn’t going to happen. So, he decided to list it on Craig’s list.

It was a $1200.00 armoire that he listed for $300.00.

20130717-093738.jpg

20130717-093752.jpg

I know that armoires are not the “in” thing right now, but given the quality of this cabinet, I was not surprised when The Capt. got a text from a man interested in it.

The gentleman stated that he was out of town on business but that he wanted us to take down our listing and he was going to send us a bank check. As soon as we received the check, he would arrange for his guys to pick up the armoire.

I joked that this might be a scam and he wants to send us a check for more than what we are asking!

The Capt. gave the man my name and address and a few days later an envelope arrived via Fed Ex.

(I blanked out my name and address for security reasons)

20130717-093918.jpg

Inside was a check for $1800.00 and instructions to contact them via email.

20130717-094043.jpg

20130717-094058.jpg

20130717-094115.jpg

20130717-094129.jpg

I couldn’t believe that my joking around actually came true and we were being scammed.

I called the police to report the scam and I had hoped that I could convince them to run a sting operation to catch the bad guys. I told them that I would play along and pretend that I had cashed the check, then, when they come to get their money and armoire, the police could be here to arrest them.

The police quickly burst my bubble, there was going to be NO sting!
These people had no intensions of picking up the item they just purchased.
They just wanted me to cash the bank check, keep out my $300.00 for the armoire and then wire the remaining money to them. They are not even in this country, usually they are in Jamaica, I was told.

The scam is that about a week after the check was cashed at your bank, and you have already wired the money, your bank will contact you to let you know that the check was no good and you must pay back the $1800.00.

The police department had me report the scam to the FTC ( Federal Trade Commission) and asked me to turn the check over to the post office.

Please be aware of these things. If it doesn’t sound right, then it usually isn’t !

We often hear of these things but never think it will happen to us.

Don’t be their next victim!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Your style is so unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.
    Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I
    will just book mark this site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

