My First Pinterest Project Of The Year Part 2

So last week I showed you how I had some pictures enlarged at Staples. Click here to read that post.

20130312-083649.jpg

Now, this week, I am going to show you what I did with those enlarged photos.

I bought a half piece of very thin MDF at Home Depot and while I was there, I had them cut the board into the sizes I needed.

(It is very important that you enlarge your pictures first so that you can get an accurate measurement before you have the board cut.)

20130312-083715.jpg

First, I sanded the edges of each board. Then I painted the edges black on the boards that I will use for the colored copies of the grandkids and for the big engineer print I painted the whole board white, including the edges.

20130312-083800.jpg

When the paint was completely dry, I sprayed each board with my spray adhesive. I very carefully positioned the photo onto the board and smoothed it out to remove any air bubbles. I turned the picture over and trimmed the edges with a very sharp razor knife.

After the glue was dry, I sprayed the picture with some matte finish spray Modpodge. I am not sure that you even need to do this step, I just thought it would keep the pictures from getting dusty. But, for my big print, after using the spray Modpodge, I found that it caused air pockets that I couldn’t get out, so if I were to do it again, I would leave this step out on the engineering prints.

20130312-083841.jpg

I wasn’t sure what I was going to do for hooks on the back to hang my boards with until Marley and I were on our morning walk. It is amazing how many soda can tabs you can find in the street in one morning.
I measured the exact center of the boards and then glued the tab with some clear all purpose glue. When that was dried, I added some hot glue just to be sure.

20130312-083931.jpg

Here are my finished products, they turned out AMAZING!!

20130312-084016.jpg

After hanging Marley’s picture, it just seemed lonely on the wall. I had two extra square boards left over, so I made two smaller pictures to give it balance.

It is a real eye catcher now, when you walk by his room!

20130312-084107.jpg

20130312-085345.jpg

I want to redo the spare room that the grandkids sleep in and I want the new pictures to be the centerpiece. But, until I get that project done, I just replaced some older pictures with these new ones.

20130312-085502.jpg

This is my favorite picture
. Grandpa with all of his grandsons!

20130312-085559.jpg

Do you have any pictures that you would love to enlarge?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

