New Year’s Resolution

As I look back on my past resolutions, it has dawned on me that I set myself up for failure just by what I resolve myself to do.

You see, I have been choosing things that I thought, if I succeed, I would feel so much better about myself.

For the past 5 years or so, I think I have had the same resolution with the same miserable results.

I always say that I am going to lose weight. ” this is the year that I start eating right and exercising regularly. I am going to get healthy and then I will feel better about myself”.

I don’t think that I have ever gotten past February when I realized that I have already given up. And believe me, that is not a good feeling!

So, this year I am rethinking my resolution.

20121231-083345.jpg

I am taking the attention off of me and turning it on to others.

I have had so much fun and have felt so good this holiday season by doing the Random Acts of Christmas Kindness, that I have decided not to end it just because the holidays are over.

This year, my New Year’s Resolution is to always be aware of the needs of others. Also, I am going to try to be more patient and kind towards others.

For those people who are rude or pushy, I am going to treat them as if they are having a bad day, because there is a good chance that they are!

I am going to make up some packages to keep in my car to hand out to those people on the street with the “please help” signs.

I am going to keep some dollar bills in my wallet to hand out where needed.

I am going to try to smile more at the cashiers and waitresses and I am going to return those stray shopping carts to the cart return stations.

I have found that when you think of others first, that is when you find your true JOY!

Matthew 7:12 So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.

20121231-083503.jpg

May you all have a blessed New Year!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

