Key For Santa

This is a pin inspired project.

I saw this on Pinterest and knew I had to make some of these for my grandkids.

20121206-072435.jpg
source

I just love how these Santa keys take the worry out of ” how is Santa going to be able to leave me presents”, just like Jesus takes the worry out of “the pressures of life” with his presence!

I wasn’t sure where I was going to find some skeleton keys until I was at JoAnn Fabrics to get the rest of the supplies for this project. There in the ornament section where these 2 big, beautiful keys! I was so thrilled to find them that the whole store probably heard me gasp. I really wanted 3, so I bought these 2, at 40% off, and then found a 3rd one at Target, in the ornament section.

Here is what I used:

Skeleton keys
Red scrapbook paper
Wire ribbon
Card stock and greeting card program

20121206-072619.jpg

I used my greeting card program to design the tags for my card and to write the poem.

I changed the poem up a bit, here is what I wrote:

Dear Santa,
This key works just for you
Please open the door and come on through

Tomorrow we celebrate the birth of Jesus, a very special day
And tonight safe travels for you and Rudolph I pray

Thank you Santa for the gifts you bring
Thank you Jesus for everything!

20121206-072919.jpg

Then I used some craft scissors to cut the scrapbook paper, slightly larger than the tags, and glued them together.

20121206-073006.jpg

I added the wire ribbon and the key.

20121206-073050.jpg

It is now ready to be hung on the door on Christmas Eve!

20121206-073134.jpg

This may be the key to let Santa in on Christmas Eve,

But Jesus is the key to eternal life, have you let him in?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

