Elf On A Shelf

As Christians, we struggle with how to handle the whole santa and the elves thing when our kids are little.

While we want our children to know Jesus, we also want them to enjoy all of the childhood fantasies that are part of being a kid.

After doing a google search, I have found some very clever ways of incorporating our Christian beliefs with the childhood fantasies.

My daughter was interested in getting an elf on the shelf for her 4 year old son but it just didn’t seem right to tell a kid that this elf was going to tattle on him, to Santa, for being bad yet it would do naughty things each night while everyone slept.

Leana at A Small Snippet shared a very clever way to use the elf as a tool to teach her kids about forgiveness, just as Jesus forgives us.

I loved this idea so much that I put together an “Elf on the Shelf” package for some of my grandkids.

Here is what I did:

I bought 3 elf ornaments from Hobby Lobby for $3.99 each.
I added a scarf to the boy elves and a dress to the girl. I added pom poms and rhinestones to the feet and the girl got earrings as well.

20121205-080743.jpg

I used 3 small priority boxes lined with red felt and ribbon to house the elves.
I wrote the kids name on the front of the box, The North Pole for the return address and added a snowman sticker for a stamp.

That way the parents can leave this by the front door for the kids to find on December 1st ( I have read where some parents put it in the freezer for about an hour first so that it feels like it just came from the North Pole).

20121205-082658.jpg

20121205-082731.jpg

20121205-082750.jpg

I torn off the sticky part on the box and replaced it with some Velcro so that it would be easy for the kids to open. Also, this box becomes a perfect way to store the elf for use year after year.

20121205-082857.jpg

I added a letter from Santa, addressed to each child. It explains that there is no naughty or nice list because Santa knows Jesus and knows that he forgives us when do something naughty, this is called grace! He tells the kids that he has a special friend that he wants them to meet. This elf sometimes does naughty things and Santa was hoping that the kids could teach the elf about how Jesus loves us and forgives us when we do bad things by forgiving the elf when he is naughty.

20121205-082942.jpg

I searched the Internet for some ideas on what to put in this letter and after combining wording from several different ones, this is the letter I came up with:

20121205-083022.jpg

Just as the original Elf on a Shelf came with a book, I included this book, where Santa is telling the story of the first Christmas.

I ordered the books on Amazon for $9.99 each.

20121205-083113.jpg

20121205-083149.jpg

20121205-083210.jpg

If we make Jesus the center of our children’s life, then they won’t have to be confused with their spiritual beliefs and their childhood fantasies.

We can teach them to look for Christ in everything!

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. wow beyond fabulous i love it shame my little one is 17 but this is great for kids i love how you incorporated it all

    Reply
  2. I cannot thank you enough for posting your letter! I am so thankful to have found it on pinterest! 🙂

    Reply
  1. Elf on the Shelf: A CHRISTmas Tradition | Jessica McLain

Leave a Reply

