Green Skinny Jeans

Today and Friday I want to share with you some pin inspired projects.

I have been seeing mint skinny jeans all over Pinterest and I just love them, so I decided to try to make a pair for myself.

I had a pair of very light mint green jeans that I got off of the clearance rack several years ago and haven’t worn in quite some time, so I decided to make them into skinny jeans.

I didn’t take any before and after pictures, but you can find a tutorial here.

I just laid a pair of skinny jeans on top of the jeans and marked the outline and then pinned and sewed the legs.

Walla, my new skinny jeans!

20121128-074710.jpg

The problem now is, even though these were already mint color, they were too light. So, I decided to make them a bit darker.

I was inspired by this pin,
so I bought a bottle of aquamarine and kelly green ( I couldn’t find green apple) Rit dye.

20121128-075326.jpg

I just filled my washing machine with hot water and started mixing the dyes.
At first I added about half of the aquamarine and a quarter of the Kelly green. I used an old white tank top to dip into the dye and test the colors. I felt it was too blue so I kept adding more of the green until it was about half and half.

When I was satisfied with the color, I put my newly made skinny jeans in the dye and let the machine run through a complete wash cycle.

When the machine stopped I quickly ran to see my new mint skinny jeans. I just new that I was going to be in love!

Wrong!

They were way too dark. How did this happen?

I kept the jeans in the washer and ran a wash cycle again with warm water and laundry soap.

They were still much darker than I had wanted, but I put them in the dryer anyway in the hopes that they would lighten up when they were dry.

They didn’t lighten up too much but the good news is…

20121128-075509.jpg

I have an awesome pair of skinny jeans for the Christmas season!

They will match all of my holiday shirts and no one will ever know that I didn’t plan it that way.

Well, that is, if you don’t tell!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

