Homemade Cranberry Sauce

I would like to share with you this special orange cranberry sauce recipe that I make every Thanksgiving.

I got this recipe from the Internet years ago so unfortunately I don’t know who to give credit to.

Ingredients:

2 (12 ounce) packages of fresh cranberries
1 orange, zested
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
2 cups orange juice
2 cups packed brown sugar

20121121-124624.jpg

In a medium saucepan, combine all ingredients. Add enough water to cover and bring to boil on high heat. Immediately reduce heat, and simmer for about 1 hour, or until the sauce has thickened. Taste for sweetness, and adjust with additional sugar if necessary. You cannot over cook, so continue cooking until you have a good thick consistency. ( I think I add too much water because I end up cooking it for several hours). Let the mixture cool, then refrigerate in a covered container.

20121121-125035.jpg

I have never liked cranberry sauce until I started making this recipe.

I want to wish everyone a safe and happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

