Homemade Window Cleaner

I had been noticing that there are a lot of gals that make their own cleaners.

Pinterest is full of recipes for laundry soap, household cleaners, and even shampoo.

They all say the same thing, which is, not only is it more cost effective, but it works better than anything they have bought in the store.

I know that I can be cheap thrifty, but I had decided that making my own cleaning products wasn’t for me. I thought that was taking the whole “Susie Homemaker” thing too far.

Well, I had been wanting to clean all of the windows in the house, especially the french doors leading out to the pool, for a while now. After all of the grandkids visits, there are finger prints and smudges everywhere. I was putting this job off because not only was it too hot to do the outside, but I kept forgetting to buy more window cleaner.

But, when I got a call from the Capt. yesterday afternoon telling me that he had invited some co- workers over for a boil on Saturday, I knew that I had to get those windows cleaned ASAP.

I quickly searched Pinterest and found this simple recipe for window cleaner. I already had everything needed to make the cleaner so I thought, what the heck, it will save me a trip to the store.

I am a changed woman! My windows never looked so good!
It didn’t leave any streaks and I swear my windows sparkle now.

I found the original recipe here, but I tweaked it just a bit.
Because I had sudsy ammonia, I did not add the drop of soap.
I used an empty Windex bottle so I had to make sure to measure everything since the recipe is for 24oz and my bottle was 32oz.

I love this stuff so much that I made a label for my new cleaner with the recipe right on it.

1 oz sudsy ammonia
4 ozrubbing alcohol
19 oz water

( that’s right, I was paying for mostly water at the store).

20120907-073554.jpg

20120907-073611.jpg

I will never use store bought window cleaner again.

Hmmm, I might have to rethink my options for laundry detergent!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

