Stopping The Rust Rings

I leave my shaving cream in the shower so that it is handy when I need to shave my legs but the metal ring around the bottom of the can leaves a rust stain on my tile.

I wonder why , knowing it will be near water, they make a container that would rust in the first place?

20120822-084739.jpg

20120822-084755.jpg

How many of you have this same problem?

I have come up with a simple solution that I plan to use from now on, or at least until they can come up with a shaving cream can that doesn’t rust.

I cut the bottom off of a small water bottle to make a cup.

20120822-085417.jpg

I placed the shaving cream can in the cup.

20120822-085629.jpg

The fit wasn’t perfect and I was afraid that water would get inside the cup and cause it to fall off so I placed a rubber band around the top of the cup to form a seal and to hold it tightly onto the shaving cream can.

20120822-085836.jpg

Walla, no more rusting!

20120822-090009.jpg

I wonder why the manufacturers can’t put plastic or rubber on the bottom of the cans?

Now, I must go on Pinterst and find a way to remove the old rust spots.

Any suggestions?

Linking up to:
Monday

Market yourself Monday at Sumo’s Sweet Stuff
Monday link up party at Making The World Cuter
Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
A marvelous mess at Marvelously Messy
Newbie Mondays at Debbiedoo’s
Creative Corner Blog Hop at Cherished Handmade Treasures
It’s So Very Creative at It’s So Very Cheri

Tuesday

Topsy Turvy Tuesday at I’m Topsy Turvy
Get your craft on at Today’s Creative Blog
Take a look Tuesday at Sugar Bee Crafts
Show me what ya got at Not Just A Housewife
A Bowl Full Of Lemons
Tout it Tuesday at Claiming Our Space
home decorating and organizing link party at Organize Your Stuff Now
Uncommonly yours at Uncommon Creating the
Tuesdays Tutorials at Kurtz Corner

Wednesday

Look what I made at Creations by Kara
Lil Luna link party at Lil Luna
Wildly Original Roundup at I Gotta Create
whimsical Wednesday blog hop at Random
Time for a party at Fine Craft Guild
Whimsy Wednesday at The NY Melrose Family

Thursday

Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage (Wed night)
Hookin up party at House of Hepworths (Wed night)
Dog gone dirty craftin at Rhinestone Beagle
Made you look at Made in a Day

Friday

Frugal Friday at Shabby Nest (Thur night)
Friday flair at Whipperberry
Friday fun party at Craftionary
Fancy this Fridays at Truly Lovely
TGIF at Two Sasters
Freedom Fridays at My Turn (For Us)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. wow great idea i hate those rings too thanks for sharing

    Reply
  2. You are BRILLIANT. What a great idea and such a simple solution.

    Reply
  3. What a great idea!!

    Reply
  4. So simple and clever! Thanks for sharing this smart idea. 🙂

    Reply
  5. What a great idea…I pinned it!

    Reply
  6. claimingourspace

     /  September 3, 2012

    What a great idea. I get those same rust rings. Thanks for sharing on Tout It Tuesday. Hope to see you tomorrow!

    Reply
  7. Actually, we use (the bottoms of) plastic water bottles for just about anything. At times, it makes a good soap dispenser too.

    Reply
  8. Ha!
    What a truly clever idea!
    I was just reading through some older posts at Debbie’s newbie party…I used to be a newbie! I miss this party and forget about it sometimes…so glad I saw this. I love this creative idea.

    keep bloggin’ Pat

    Reply
  9. I too was battling this problem. It looks like someone came up with a solution called Rust-O-Less. I added the website above (www.rust-o-less). And it seems to be getting good reviews on Amazon. Very eye pleasing too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

