Monday Morning

Well, it’s Monday morning and I didn’t plan anything to write about.
I just got home yesterday from taking my grandson’s home to Illinois.

It has been a very busy 4 weeks for me, and even though I have enjoyed every minute of it, I am worn out and just need some down time.

20120716-081715.jpg

Here is a funny story that will verify just how worn out and off my game I am.

I consider myself a vary seasoned traveller, being a travel agent for so many years, but on this particular day, I must have looked like a rookie or worse!

It all started 24hrs prior, when I was able to check in and print my boarding pass online. I was using my daughters Mac computer, which I am not too familiar with. She hooked up the printer while I was clicking everywhere, trying to find the print options. Then, when the printer was turned on, to my surprise, out came a boarding pass. I folded it up and put it in my carry on for the following morning.

I like to get to the airport extra early so that I am not stressed if there should be any type of delay, so we get on the road at 6:30 am.

Once I get to the airport, I chuckle to myself that I don’t have to stand in line at the ticket counter because I wasn’t checking any luggage, so I headed straight to the security check point. With a smile on my face, I handed my boarding pass and ID to the security agent, I was ready to get home and see the Capt. and Marley. The security agent said there was something wrong, my ID did not match the name on my boarding pass.

What, how can that be? To my horror, I had given them an out dated boarding pass with my daughters name on it, it was her itinerary from 2 weeks prior. It must have been in the printing queue and when we turned on her printer, it spit it out. Because it was a boarding pass and I was trying to print a boarding pass, I never double checked the name and date on it.

So, I had to make my way back to the ticket counter, get in line and get the proper paperwork. Luckily, it didn’t take too long and before I knew it, I was standing back in front of the same ticket agent, trying to explain my funny story while she scrutinized my documents with a fine tooth comb.
She put some red marks on the boarding pass and let me proceed to the security machines.

Once I passed through the metal detectors, another security agent came over and informed me that she needed to do a quick pat down.

OK, got through that, but wait. Now they want to search my bag. Really?

OK, they did that, and took some lotion that I had. It was ok for the flight out here, but apparently not ok for the return flight.

But, at this point, I just wanted to get to my gate and veg until it was time to board the plane. I grabbed my shoes and bag and off I went. When I got to the gate, I found a seat and settled in, trying to unwind a bit after that little fiasco, when an announcement came over the loud speaker, “will the person that left the grey hooded jacket please return to the security check point”.

Again, Really?

Praise God, I made it home, safe and sound and with out further incident!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. omg its getting so crazy at airports glad you made it home safe now take some time to recoop

    Reply
  2. Aww sounds like a story I read in elementary school called “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad day”. At least things worked themselves out but doesn’t it always seem to get progressively worse when one thing happens?

    Reply
  3. on my blog today liebster award for you enjoy

    Reply
  4. Thank you so much for this award!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

