A Simple Makeover With A Big Impact

TGIF everyone. I am so thankful it is Friday, it has been a long week for me.

Today I want to share a simple project with you that I had been wanting to do for a long time. This project involves something that is already functional but a bit worn out and lacking the wow factor. It is amazing what a difference a few minor changes can make!

Okay, so you all know my little guy Marley right?

20120511-071936.jpg

It is so very hard to say NO to that face!

Anyway, this project involves Marley’s personal space in the kitchen/dining room area. I told you, on the tour of my humble abode, that we made this area from the wasted space in the back of a cabinet when we did our kitchen redo. You can check it out here.

20120511-072535.jpg

The Capt. even put in a sliding bottom to make it easier to clean and store the dog food bin.

20120511-072825.jpg

I mixed several different color paints together to get a pretty minty green color. After cleaning the bottom really good, I applied 2 coats of paint.

I had an unused tension rod hanging around and scraps of material left over from covering the dining room chairs and kitchen window ruffle, so I made a matching ruffle to dress up the open space.
There was just enough space in between the counter top and the opening to put a vinyl decal. I ordered this one from Bloomiville on Etsy.

Check out the finished product…

20120511-073415.jpg

20120511-073448.jpg

This is what the view used to look like as you entered the area.

20120511-073609.jpg

And this is what it looks like now.

20120511-073721.jpg

20120511-073757.jpg

I am lovin’ the new look. Check out who else likes it!

20120511-073859.jpg

Well, have a good weekend and Happy Mother’s Day to all of you mamas out there!

I’m linking to:
Monday

Market yourself Monday at Sumo’s Sweet Stuff
Monday link up party at Making The World Cuter
Metamorphis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch
It’s So very creative at It’s So Very Cheri
Made by you Mondays at Skip To My Lou
A marvelous mess at Marvelously Messy
Newbie Mondays at Debbiedoos

Tuesday

Topsy Turvy Tuesday at I’m Topsy Turvy
Get your craft on at Today’s Creative Blog
Take a look Tuesday at Sugar Bee Crafts
Sew cute Tuesday at The Creative Boutique
Show me what ya got at Not Just A Housewife
Turning the daunting into do-able at Project Queen
A Bowl Full Of Lemons

Wednesday

Look what I made at Creations by Kara
Lil Luna link party at Lil Luna
Hoos got talent at Night Owl Crafting

Thursday

Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage (Wed night)
Hookin up party at House of Hepworths (Wed night)
Get your brag on at Gluesticks
Dog gone dirty craftin at Rhinestone Beagle
piece of cake T Quality Cheap Home
Friday

Frugal Friday at Shabby Nest (Thur night)
Friday flair at Whipperberry
Fridays feature at Cookie Nut
Friday fun party at Craftionary
Freedom Fridays T My Turn (For Us)
Catch as catch can at My Repurposed Life

Saturday

What’s shaken at Shaken Together

Leave a comment

34 Comments

  1. very cute! marley’s a lucky dog!

    Reply
  2. Nina

     /  May 12, 2012

    super cute…and I love that you incorporated it into “dead space” great idea!

    Reply
  3. Oh my goodness, your puppy is too stinking cute.. and of course his puppy dining hall is awesome! Such a clever way to save space in the kitchen! Such a clever puppy momma!
    Thanks so much for joining in the Pink Hippo Hop.. I am your newest follower!

    Reply
  4. What a wonderful idea, as you say keeps you from tripping over food bowls or knocking the water bowl. Problem I have here is I have 8 little ones so would take up most of the kitchen space LOL. My daughter only has 2 small girls and a much larger kitchen so it would work for her. I have to have a large water bowl, which has to be changed often throughout the day, they’re Lhasa’s & Shiddies so all have beards which dirty the water. Heaven help you if you forget to change the water!! Problem is either I or Mr B often knock into it so we have to keep the mop handy LOL.

    Peg x

    Reply
  5. awesome love the idea

    Reply
  6. What a creative and beautiful idea!! Your dog is adorable! Megan

    Reply
  7. This ROCKS!!!! I love it! I wish I had more cabinet space because I would totally do this idea!
    visiting from the newbie party!

    Reply
  8. Marley isn’t spoiled at all, is he?

    🙂

    So cute!

    Linda

    Reply
  9. Your puppy is pretty cute! I love what you did with the space, creative! 🙂

    Reply
  10. I’m thinking Marley is only a little bit spoiled! I love his dog house that you shared at Project Queen’s Link Party. Thank you so much!

    Reply
  11. What a fabulous idea! This looks super cute and is functional, too. Marley is indeed, a lucky dog. 🙂 Found you through Debbiedoo’s Newbie Party. I’m happy to be now following via LF and look forward to seeing more of your delightful blog. Have a wonderful night!
    Sharla

    Reply
  12. What a great idea for an adorable pooch! I would love for you to share this (and any other creations) at Pin It and Win It Wednesday @ http://www.cheapcraftymama.com– where you can win free ad-space on my blog!

    Reply
  13. Love it! And it is so great that it is elevated! You are such a good dog mom 🙂

    Reply
  14. That’s a great way to use that wasted space. I LOVE the rolling out floor.

    Reply
  15. evelyn513

     /  May 19, 2012

    I sure couldn’t say no to that sweetness! Great idea! Keeps everything out of the way of us big footed humans:) Thanks for linking up to Freedom Fridays:)

    Reply
  16. Marley, what a cutie and his own special eating area……special doggie andi thewednesdaybaker

    Reply
  17. I love the touches of fun you added to Marley’s space! Thanks so much for sharing this at the {what’s shakin’ link party} this week!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

