Turning 40

My son-in-law turned 40 Sunday. I know what you are thinking, “how could she possibly have a son in law that old?”. Well, it just sneaks up on you and before you know it, they are catching up with you! Hehe!

In our family, we don’t buy gifts for the adults, we donate to charity in that person’s name instead. But, when it comes to a milestone birthday, I try to do a little something to acknowledge the event. So here is what I did:

First of all, I had an old plastic juice bottle kicking around, so I washed it out real good and made a simple label to go on it, “40 Blows”. Then I filled the bottle with gum balls that I got from the dollar rack at Target, and added some curly ribbon. I think it made the perfect little DIY project to mark this special event.

20120423-083741.jpg

20120423-084150.jpg

I also ordered some T-shirts from Vistaprint in honor of the occasion. I don’t know if you all are familiar with vista print but if not, I urge you to check them out. I use Vistaprint for everything, and actually, I think I will do a whole post about what all you can do with them. But for now, back to the T-shirts, I had an email offer that allowed me to get one men’s T-shirt and one ladies T-shirt for free, all I had to do was pay the shipping cost. At the time of the order, the shipping cost was $4.41 but I think now it has gone up to somewhere around $6.26. But hey, where else can you get 2 custom T-shirts for $6.25?

I knew exactly what design I was going to get for my son in law because I had gotten the same one for my father for his 85th birthday. Check it out.

20120423-084300.jpg

20120423-084348.jpg

But, since I could get a free ladies T-shirt too, I wanted something for my daughter to wear on his birthday so I searched the Internet for funny sayings for car enthusiasts and I came up with this …

20120423-084452.jpg

20120423-084517.jpg

Happy 40th Birthday Derek, I hope you had a wonderful day!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. love the gum ball idea and the t shirts are cute too

    Reply

Leave a Reply

