It’s My Birthday

Today I turned 56 years old and I am sitting here at the DMV, waiting to renew my drivers license ( yes I know, I don’t usually wait until the last minute but time got away from me with all of the Easter festivities, company, and mini vacation. In Florida your license expires on your birthday, so here I am). Anyway, I was just thinking about how I am now closer to 60 than I am to 50. I have never been one to panic as I got older, instead I embraced it.
I have had a lot of discussions about woman and age through the years and I have come to the conclusion that a woman…

In her 20’s is just beginning her journey. She’s feeling the freedom of being out of school, on her own, and looking forward to exploring all of her options. She knows she has her whole life ahead of her so she is going to enjoy being young.

In her 30’s, she is feeling the pressure. This is probably the hardest decade for a woman because she is trying to juggle family, finances, and work. She has to figure out what she wants to do with her life, how she wants to raise the kids, how she is going to stay on budget and maintain a house. Not only is she stressed out with the daily routines, she is also dealing with the fact that the only things from her school days that still fit her are her earrings.

In her 40’s, she has learned to relax. Her family is older and she is secure in her job or career, and she has learned how to manage her finances. She knows exactly who she is and exudes confidence. She is seeing the light at the end of the tunnel and is looking forward to the future.

In her 50’s, she is woman, hear her roar! The golden years suit her well. Her family is grown and she is still young enough to start checking things off of her bucket list. She is looking forward to retirement and possibly becoming a grandmother. Life is good!

In her 60’s, I don’t know yet, but I can’t wait to find out!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

