Easter Baskets

I am so excited because my company will be here this evening. Easter is my favorite holiday and I am so happy to be sharing it with lots of family this year. The 2 kids that will be here, my granddaughter and nephew, are young teens so I have put together an Easter basket of sorts for them.

I have used this gift container idea many times, but never for these two, so I thought it would be the perfect thing to hold their Easter stuff.

First, you start with a 2 liter soda bottle. I like to use Coke because I like the shape of the bottles.

20120406-181317.jpg

Wash and dry it good. Then take the label off and with a sharpie, draw a sideways U, where the label was.

20120406-181403.jpg

Carefully cut along the ink mark with a razor knife.

20120406-181507.jpg

Once you have the opening cut, fill it with Easter grass and candy.
Seal the opening with clear tape, make a label and attach it, over the opening, with double sided tape, add some curly ribbon and you have a unique Easter basket presentation.

I also filled these containers with bathing suits and sunglasses because we will be going to the beach.
The labels say… Bottled Especially for “recipients name” and if you want you could add …by the ” giver’s name” Bottling Company.
You could also use a smaller soda bottle or water bottle as a gift card holder.

20120406-181615.jpg

I would ordinarily give a chocolate Easter bunny along with this but because these are northern guests, I bought some really cute chocolate alligators at a candy shop here in town.
I thought it would be a nice touch to celebrate their Florida trip.

20120406-181707.jpg

I am going to place one of each on either side of the fireplace So that when they wake up Easter morning, it will be waiting for them.

20120406-182147.jpg

20120406-182156.jpg

20120406-182205.jpg

I know that it is so easy to get caught up in all of the preparing, cooking and visiting that we forget to take the time to remember what Easter is all about.
Let me just say that I may not be perfect, but Jesus thinks I’m to die for!

Happy Easter everyone

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

