Getting Ready For Easter

As you know, I am going to have a full house for Easter this year so I am starting now to get all of my decorating ideas done in time.
A while back, my pre-Pinterest days, I saw a post where someone had glued a martini glass and scalloped plate together and then spray painted the whole thing hot pink. Well, I just loved it so much that I had to make some for myself.

I already had some plates so I hunted like a crazy woman scoured the thrift shops for some goblets in different shapes for the bases. In the process, I also found a jar that had the perfect size lid for a vase I bought years ago at Walmart and a neat looking candy dish (I think). So, here is what I did:

I drew a circle on the bottom of the dish so that I would get the goblet placed exactly in the middle. I also decided that it would be a waste to throw away the jar with the lid. Just because I was using the lid on my vase, didn’t mean that I couldn’t do something with the jar. So, I looked into my stash of candle sticks and found a small one that would go nicely with the jar.

20120326-134645.jpg

20120326-134703.jpg

After they were glued with my E6000, I put something on it to weigh it down and then just let it dry.

20120326-134842.jpg

Now that they are nice and dry, I took them out to the garage and spray painted them. I decided to do the little jar red and then I could use it as a vase for Christmas or Valentines Day.

20120326-135002.jpg

I have finally completed all of my colorful plates. I just love the bright colors!

20120326-135102.jpg

20120326-135142.jpg

20120326-135218.jpg

And remember the little jar with the lid? The lid fit perfectly on my vase to make a nice apothecary jar and the jar looks so good holding a plant.

20120326-135328.jpg

20120326-135348.jpg

Well, one project down. Next I will be making some treat bags.

I’m linking up to

Photobucket


Tip Junkie handmade projects

Sumo's Sweet Stuff
Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Wow…great transformations!! Very creative!

    Reply
  2. i love this idea. they look so nice. did you use a special kind of glass paint?

    Reply
  3. I used regular spray paint. I believe the orange and pink was Rustolium and the green was Krylon. I chose the paint based on color not brand. Of coarse, I won’t put these in the dishwasher and I will use a paper doily when serving food on them

    Reply
  4. Mary

     /  March 26, 2012

    Love these!! So cute.

    Reply
  5. Nice!!! i’ll be putting this on my “crafts I want to do list”
    Thank-You for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  6. Judy

     /  March 29, 2012

    I am having painted glass envy. Those are just too cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

